Animal Hospital – Sat 2/14 – PA’s Lounge

l_8a2ba5cf2fde50d4aa5ce3de37293639

Q&A w/ Kevin Micka aka Animal Hospital

Q: When were you first inspired to make music outside the context of conventional song structure? and what artists opened your eyes to the possibilities of experimental music?

A: I wanted to start a project that would allow me to go on tour whenever i could.
I took inspiration from Tyondai Braxton. After seeing him play solo a few times it helped me lay a foundation for ideas of my own.
I had always wanted to experiment more with drums and electronics in a band setiing. This project gave me a great opportunity to try new approaches to writing and performing. More recently i would say Laurie Anderson and Gastr Del Sol have inspired me.

Q: You are touring Europe in March. How is your music received across the pond? and what are you excited about seeing/doing that you didn’t get a chance to do when you toured there in 2006?

A: It is heard to say at the moment. I dont really have real distribution for my music over there yet other than through touring.
Although i do feel i have had more a positive response from promoters than i do over here.
I am hoping to get up early and see more this time, I feel a little more prepared and have alot more material to play which is nice.
I am looking forward to almost all of it equally really. I am excited to see the cities and friends i saw and met last time.
I am also looking forward to the 3 days we will be spending in Reykjavik on the way home.

Q: What is the most flattering/non-flattering musician/band comparisons you have received from fans, friends, family, press etc…?

A: Hmmm. I like it when people start talking to me about an artist they are convinced i must know alot about and draw inspiration from.
Although that has been how i have found out about a lot of great music.

Q: Last month you digitally-released Good and Plenty, Streets and Avenues on Mutable Sounds. Tell us about the recording of this album and how it differs from your soon to be released full-length Memory.

A: “Good or Plenty..” came about as a collection of pieces of music that i wrote while working on “Memory” over the last few years.
I had a pretty firm idea of what Memory was going to be for a long time and had no real plan for these other songs.
I went on tour last June and thought I had enough music to put together for another release to sell on tour.
My friends Malcolm and Gabe eventually heard this and offered to release it on their new label.
The collection has a lot more of a loose feel. I tried to let things go more than I did with “Memory”

Q: If you could play a show in Boston with 3 other local bands who would they be and at what Boston venue would you play?

A: Two of them would be Big Digits and Big Bear who I am playing with a Great Scott on March 3rd for the release of “Memory”.
There are so many I like to choose from.. it is hard for me to say.
I’ll have to send you a list.

Listen to Animal Hospital


WHEN Saturday, 2/14/09 @ 08:00 PM
VENUE P.A.’s Lounge
CITY Somerville, MA
INFO Travels Record Release Show.
Feb 14th – Valentine’s Day
@ PA’s Lounge in Somerville, MA
with
Travels
Animal Hospital
Arms and Sleepers
Mary Page
Age Restrictions: 18+

Doors Open: 8:30PM

Leave a Reply

